Jewels: Has A New Trick Up Her Sleeve

I started working Jewels at “Liberty” sometime back. My goal was to better educate her on ‘wanting to be closer to me’ without forcing her. It took a lot of hours to gain her trust. Most of my time was spent handling her and making it worth, her time, to get to know me better. Without making her feel cagey or confined in a small area. I let it be her idea. Not so much lately. I’ve not had the time or capabilities to stand on my feet for long. Sometimes, it can take an hour or so to get her to send off and return off lead. Just getting her to stay with me for long periods of time was quite a challenging experience. Hence, standing on my feet, with my previous physical limitations, was difficult for me. The Arabs, I use to own, we’re a snap in that department.  They always thought I was their best friend right from the beginning. Jewels? Not much!

It has been several days since I’ve been out to the barn. I felt the need to put everything else on the back burner and spend some quality time with Jewels. No one was at the barn. I took advantage of the quiet. Today, ‘I thought’. I’ll give her a little refresher course on “Liberty” training and see what she remembers. Normally, I’d have schooled her in a small area at first. Then, on to a larger space. It was a tad chilly and windy this afternoon. We had a lot of rain the past few days, also. I opted to use the arena instead of the round pen. I gathered her from the stall, took her to the arena and let her go. I barely got her halter off before she took off. Jewels leaped in the air like a jack rabbit several times before she landed a ground covering walk. I enjoyed watching her unravel all that energy she had bottled up.

I left her in the arena for a few minutes while making a phone call and filling my pockets full of horse treats. Jewels loves peppermint snacks. Returning to the scene. I noticed she was having a conversation with the big appaloosa gelding in the outside paddock. Since I was too lazy to walk all the way across the arena. I called her, hoping, she’d come to me without much hesitation. Surprisingly enough. She came right to me after calling her a couple of times.

Jewels has gotten better and better about coming when she’s called. This only took me 3 years to achieve. Good things come to those who wait? Nope! It takes persistence and determination. Or, in my case. All it took, and “God” love him. I know he was always worried about me. Was my husband relentlessly chanting in my ear. She’s to crazy! She’s to far beyond repair. You need to get rid of her. You’ll never gain her respect. In his defense. He loved me and didn’t want to see me get hurt. I’m so glad, I’m a thick-headed ol broad and wish he was here today. He’d see how wonderful she’s become. I can even get her to kiss me! How cute is this?

Moving right along. We started doing some sending exercises in both directions. She did splendidly!

This exercise is a prelude to the next step. Ultimately, my goal is to do some sort of choreographed routine with her someday. I’ll figure out our capabilities as we move along. Until next time. Happy horsing around!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling, Horse Training
4 comments on “Jewels: Has A New Trick Up Her Sleeve
  1. wxyz63 says:

    I really enjoyed your videos, Susan. I didn’t know you could do voice commands with horses. Terrific!

    • highonhorses says:

      It always amazes me, just what a horse can do. They are far smarter than some folks give them credit for. Truthfully, Jewels has been my educator. I think she’s the one teaching me how to communicate with her.

  2. liascott says:

    That just gave me a big old smile! She clearly likes being around you – and that is the best part of having a horse! Sadly, too few people ever put the time in to reach that point! You should be very, very proud … and rather honored to boot! Have fun … you deserve it!

  3. highonhorses says:

    I am more honored Jewels allows me to be in her presence. Without resistance. She’s come so far. I am as proud of her, as if, she were my own kid. One day my riding ability may be nixed by what ever physical ailments older women get. By then, she’ll be the perfect friend. I’m glad she made you smile, Lia. Take care of yourself and happy horsing around. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,804 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

