Jewels: Our New Journey

I’ve been having to feed, clean stalls, mow the grounds, shop for feed and hay all on my own. Most of it, ‘after’, I get off from an 8-10 hour day at work. I thought it would be a breeze for me to keep up with the demand of having two horses, three dogs, a cat and one small parakeet. How ever, I forgot to calculate everything else that needs to be done in between.  Such as: Shopping for groceries. Cleaning house and paying bills. Did I forget to mention, sleep? I’ve had to take the vehicles in to the dealership for oil changes and maintenance. You know, ‘the usual stuff that contributes to our daily lives’! No big deal, right? Maybe for a younger solitary individual. It just wasn’t working for me. I’m heading for the big 6-0 shortly after the New Year and I’m already feeling overwhelmed with most of the up-keep on this place.

I thought long and hard over my predicament. My survival skills have kicked in and decided it was time to let my old horse go. ‘Sad, I know’. Since I can only ride one and he’s getting to old to teach him anything. He’s is the ultimate Cadillac for trail riding. But, I had to make a choice. It’s either Handsome or Jewels. She ain’t going! I’ve come to love her like a partner. I stumbled accidentally on a family that wanted a horse for their teenager. She’s new to riding and their other girls have horses of their own. I thought this was the perfect opportunity for him to have his very own girl to love again. They are a large family of 16. The mother and father and 14 children. Seven still at home. All of them, adopted. They have 105 acres of land near Sulphur Springs, Texas. They came and got him on Monday. It was a sad day here on the home front and I could hardly breathe loading him onto their trailer.

As I watched them drive away. I remembered the day, I, got my first horse. It was a life changer for me. And, it’s been a bigger than life addiction and my passion since that very first day. Thank you, Mom! I must have cried for hours. My head was about to explode. On the day before. I took Jewels to a boarding facility. “Debi Jones Performance Horses”. It’s a really nice place. It has an indoor arena, a hot-walker, and a round pen. I also take riding lessons there on Mondays. The woman who runs the business, is the one who encouraged me to ride Jewels last year, after that riding accident the year before.  To top it all off, the barn is full of beautiful show horses. The best thing about it? I don’t have to care for her on a daily basis. Instead, I can actually go out there in the evenings 4-5 times a week . I’ll be able to enjoy her more.

My goal” is to train her for ‘APHA Shows’. I’m looking forward to a long relationship with my new life partner. In our new environment. We both feel like Diva’s!! Jewels actually looks the part. 20151012_222949000_iOS

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling
2 comments on “Jewels: Our New Journey
  1. liascott says:

    Sounds like you’re making good choices, no matter how tough. Hopefully Handsome will be happy with his new girl, and you’ll have more fun spending time with Jewel than spending all your time on chores. Enjoy!

  2. ckthomas63 says:

    I’m so impressed with the choices you’re making! Good for you! I applaude your grit and determination! Have a great week! Sincerely, Cheryl

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,804 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

