A Little Down Time

Today, I’m taking a little down time. It’s long over due. My husband is still in critical care. As a result, the last three weeks, have taken a serious; toll on my own health. I’m trying not to show it when I visit the hospital. The last thing my husband, needs, is to worry about me. It’s becoming more difficult, from day-to-day, not to show signs of stress.  Today, I’m not going to make the second visit. I just can’t go on any longer. I need rest. Hopefully, in a couple of weeks, my husband will come home. I’m sure by then, I’ll have gotten better situated here at home to accommodate his needs.

There’s so many things that need to be tended to. He won’t be able, to manage himself, like he did before. That’s where I come in. The house was a disaster before starting to dig through things and throw it away. A home seems to always collect junk. Or, maybe someone elses treasures. You pick. Every nook and cranny, has things hidden in it, we haven’t seen in years. I’m sure everyone has those cupboards and closets filled with pack rat material. My husband is the worst pack rat of them all. I use to try to throw things away, but he would get it out of the trash. “We’re going to need that someday!” I finally threw my hands up and chose not to exhaust, myself, over trivial things.

The last few days have been a God send for me. I’ve cleaned out most of the closets. I’m boxing up old clothes, shoes, knickknacks and such, so I can get rid of them. A huge garage sale, might be the way to dispose of nicer items. I have a lot of it. We’ve both collected things. I collect horse memorabilia and he collects guns and knives. There are drawers full of silly stuff too. There are keys, pens and pencils, loose staples and paper clips, letter openers, business cards from years back. Along with other things like, pictures, letters, nuts and bolts, screw drivers, batteries and so many other nit-picking crap. It would take days to list. While cleaning out the desk drawers, I even found enough change to fill a quart jar. A newly found stash of money, we haven’t missed. I might have to buy something new, for my horse collection.🙂

A few days ago while going through the order of bills that needed to be paid, threw away two paper grocery sacks full of circulars and advertisements. My husband said “we needed to keep this”. It wasn’t anything more than waste. I threw it out! I’m certainly not going to blame the entire list of stupid stuff on him. I keep silly stuff to. However, from this day forward, there won’t be any more hoarding the crazy stuff. I’m trying to simplify our lives. It’s time to dispose of anything that’s not important or relevant today. Enough rambling for now. I’m going to go lay down.

 

 

 

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,797 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

