Could Have Been A Disaster

I was fixing myself some breakfast this morning. A bacon and tomato sandwich sounded good. While frying the bacon and waiting for it to cook, I washed the dishes that were left over from last night. The horses were out in the back pasture. Handsome and Jerzey were standing closely together. Jewels wasn’t in the big picture. I didn’t give it much thought. She’s never very far from the others. I finished the dishes and put them up. I glanced out the window again and noticed Jerzey and Handsome were walking towards the barn. No Jewels. I couldn’t see her. As my eyes darted back and forth across the pasture, I saw her standing in the very back corner next to the neighbor’s yard. This was unusual. She’s always bringing up the rear. Jewels follows them everywhere.

I got a bit nervous, so I went out on the back porch to take a look. She was caught in the fence. To my surprise, she was being extremely laid back over the situation. I wasn’t dressed yet. Quickly, I gathered my clothes and got dressed, then grabbed the keys to the shop. There was a good chance a wire cutters was needed. I decided to grab a halter and feed bucket as well. When I had walked half way across the pasture, I notice her front half was in the neighbor’s yard, so I turned around. There wasn’t any way for me to get her out of the mess she was in, from our side of the fence. Instead, I had to approach her from the other side. Remarkably enough, she was calm, but slightly anxious.

She sure was glad to see me. I put a feed bucket near her head, so I could access the situation. Her right hind leg was caught in the top wire. All I had to do was cut the one wire to release her. I put a halter on her and asked the little girl next door to hold the lead rope. I cut the wire. Jewels walked forward and freed herself from the fence. Looking back on the fence-line, wondering how in the world she got over it in the first place. Jewels is always surprising me. The disaster that could have happened, didn’t. She does, have a few minor cuts and scrapes. Nothing that can’t heal in a short time.

IMG_2101

What a mess! I’m not sure how she got caught up in this. The whole fence was down around her.

 

The right hind leg was hung in the fence.

The right hind leg was hung in the fence.

Look how calm she was!

Look how calm she was!

In spite of it all. Jewels acted calmly and quietly over the whole ordeal. I am so proud of her.

In spite of it all. Jewels acted calmly and quietly over the whole ordeal. I am so proud of her.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling
4 comments on “Could Have Been A Disaster
  1. liascott says:

    Wow! That could have gone so badly! It says a lot about her temperament, and her trust in you! Hope she heals those cuts soon.

  2. Katherine says:

    Sooo sad for your horsey….I am happy she is not hurt too bad. ☺️

  3. highonhorses says:

    This silly basket of squirrel nuts has turned out to be a reflection of the things I’ve hoped for her. All she ever needed, was love and guidance. She never ceases to amaze me.

  4. HeidiKjaer says:

    Wow that could indeed have been a disaster, how amazing she didn’t panic, i know my horses would have!

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,797 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

