Jewels: The Afternoon Ride

The weather man called for rain today. Because of it, spent most of the morning hours in the house. I finally got off my backside and went to the barn. My husband was already outside messing around in his shop. He recently bought an old Ford tractor to tinker around with. Now, we have his and her tractors. Yes, we already had one. His justification for the newer one was, he got it for a steal. Honestly, I don’t care how he spends his money. I spend plenty on my horses. The reality is, if I don’t whine about how much he spends on his toys, he won’t whine about the money it takes to keep up with my obsession.

When I got to the barn, I grabbed a halter and walked out to the pasture. The horses were hovered over the round bale feeder. It’s their normal resting spot. Jewels was the first one to come up and investigate. That’s unusual for her. She’s a bit more apprehensive. After all, there was a halter hanging over my right shoulder. I never try to hide it. The other two turn tailed and went the other way. I didn’t care. Jewels was going to be my afternoon project. I caught her and led her to the obstacle course. There are a few poles and logs lying around the area. When we reached the area, I asked her to lunge in both directions. She is getting real good at listening and watching my cues. She settled in real nicely. Walking, trotting and loping both ways.

We built a teeter bridge sometime back. Jewels doesn’t mind walking across it. I actually got a video this time.

Didn’t she do an awesome job? She gets better every time I work with her. Jewels had a hard time understanding to halt on the bridge at first. She wasn’t sure about the footing. After a few laps around the obstacle course, I saddled her up. She needs more riding than anything. I have to mount her from a block. Every time I lead her to the block and walk up the steps, she walks off. We’re working on that. I just get off and repeat the exercise until she stands still. When I get in the saddle she always waits for me to ask her to move.

We did a few flexes and bends before taking off. Jewels is getting real good about her speed now. If she gets to going faster than I’d like, I ask her to trot tight circles. It doesn’t take many  to get her attention.  She’d much rather listen to me than work to hard. I didn’t get to technical today. She needs more wet saddle blankets than schooling. Her mind and body are in great shape now. I plan on riding her 6 days a week from this day forward. Let’s see if we can hold up to the pressure. Happy horsing around!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,804 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

