Jewels: And I, clowning around.

It’s been a challenge staying dry the last couple of weeks. Thankfully, we have a dry hallway in the barn. It’s not very large, but it serves it’s purpose. Yesterday, I caught Jewels and led her in the barn. I cross-tied her so I could do some maintenance on her mane and tail. I’m not a big fan of using brushes or combs in the long stuff, but her hair was in dire need. Her mane was all twisted and knotted from the wind and rain. I usually don’t apply a lot of moisturizer products either, but yesterday was a special occasion. I used some Show-Sheen to get the tangles out, then applied olive oil for a leave in conditioner. Jewel’s mane was extremely dry and brittle on the ends. I’ve read a ton of articles on how to grow long luxurious manes and tails. For me, it’s not a priority. I pay more attention to what I feed internally. After all, there’s nothing I can apply to the surface which masks the look of poor nutrition.

Jewels seemed to really enjoy my attention to details. She even began to lean into the rubber curry. I’m sure the mud she had caked-up all over her was becoming a nuisance. When I was through grooming her from head to tail, I sat down in a chair next to her. As I was looking at her hooves, I noticed the farrier hadn’t done such a great job his last visit. It’s only been a week since they were all trimmed. The weather brought on nasty working conditions. I’m not going to get twisted, this time. The farrier will just have to come out earlier than the next scheduled visit. Leaning back in the chair to catch my wind, noticed Jewel’s eyes were about half closed. It looked like she had taken a bottle of chill-pills. Her head and neck were at half-mast and had a hind leg cocked. It was a surreal moment for me. I knew we had clicked at that point.

Jewels is an obsession of mine. I spent the next half hour just taking snap-shots of her. She began to wake up a bit and got interested in my activity. All of the sudden, I got up and threw a towel on her head. Don’t ask me, why. I just did. Most of the time, I walk on egg shells around her. And, quite frankly, I just got tired of having to tip-toe around her. There certainly had to be a huge look of astonishment on my face. As, she didn’t even look surprised. I was completely enamored by her response. Jewel’s behavior has gone from one extreme to the other. This nervous, over-reactive pile -of-guts, has turned into exactly the opposite. The thinking side of her brain really does work.

BeFunky_IMG_1898 (3)

 

 

 

 

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling
3 comments on “Jewels: And I, clowning around.
  1. Elinor says:

    She’s becoming ALL your girl. Some bonding🙂
    That’s mare power!🙂

  2. liascott says:

    Definitely a mare thing – when they finally give their trust, it’s usually all the way! Good for you for sticking it through … now you start to get some rewards!

  3. highonhorses says:

    Honestly, these mares are the first ones I’ve ever owned. They certainly act much different than geldings. There’s no going back, now. I’m hooked! Love my ladies.

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,797 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

