It’s been awhile, but…

IMG_1697 (2)I’ve been working on me, instead of other things. Has it made a difference? You bet it has. Work is not my number one priority any longer. I spend a whole lot less time on the job, and it’s making a huge impact on my mental and physical well-being. I’ve been getting the rest I’ve so desperately needed. My mobility and strength are still not as they should be, and chances are they never will be, again. I refuse to accept it for what it is and I’m learning to improvise. I will get back in the saddle again, some day. Most days, I’m having to pick and choose which task is more important for me to complete. Since I choose to take care of my health first, the horses continuously take a back seat. And, can I say. I absolutely hate it!

Every day that passes by, Jewels gets farther and farther behind. For this very reason, I still haven’t decided whether Jewels is the horse for me. How ever, I’m not giving up on her, yet. In my head, giving up on her, is giving up on my dream. I can’t imagine her anywhere else. In reality, if I can’t handle her, she’s just standing in my pasture wasting this enormous potential I know she possesses. More often times than not, the mere mention of having to sell her sends me into a whirlwind. And to be fair to her, I knew exactly what I was getting into when I bought her.  And, she has improved by leaps and bounds over the past couple of years. Truth is, I’ve lost my nerve.

A few weeks ago, I got into such a funk, I listed her for sale. It didn’t take long to get several bites on her. Most of which, didn’t even take time to read the entire ad before responding. I was very clear in my description. ‘This is NOT a beginners horse’. Low and behold, I got tons of people asking whether or not she’d make a good kid horse. Will she suit a beginner? Um!, NO! I was extremely clear on her abilities as a riding horse. She’s NOT schooled in a particular discipline, but has a great handle and rides down the road quietly with consistent riding. And, yet again. Can you rope off of her? Does she know the barrel pattern? Does she know any play-day events? Has she been taught to show at western pleasure? etc…etc… Now, what part of ‘NOT schooled in any discipline’ didn’t you get? Oh, I got plenty of inquiries. Most inquiries were wanting a horse that wasn’t represented in the ad. Did you really think she was going to change after I wrote my ad?

Another thing that got my blood boiling. I clearly stated her gender, how tall she was, how much she weighed, if she was registered or not, and how old she was. If she was barefoot or shod, my price, ‘which is FIRM’, location and phone number in the ad. ‘Do NOT text me, I will NOT respond to texts’. Any other inquiries are to be discussed in a phone conversation or in my presence while you’re looking at the mare. My phone was flooded with texts. I must have been asked 10 times where my location was. A dozen or more times, “is she registered?” How old is she? Will you take less for her? Without coming to see her first? You’ve got to be kidding! Good Lord! I thought I was going to explode on stupid if I was asked any more questions that have already been answered in the ad!

After having to put up with hammerheads  for several days, I took the ad down. There’s no way in hell, I’m going to sell her to someone who can’t take the time to read or follow simple instructions. She deserves better. Maybe I’m just a tad bit to picky in my old age. Or just maybe, she really belongs here.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling
2 comments on “It’s been awhile, but…
  1. liascott says:

    Ugh! Selling horses was bad enough “in the old days” – but I swear the internet and technology have made it exponentially worse! Hang in there, and don’t give up on you and Jewels yet! You may yet find your equilibrium … and she is certainly not worried about her career. Take care of her, and take care of yourself, and the right answer will come in time. No guilt!

    • highonhorses says:

      Ugh! is right. I get so depressed looking at all the ads people have for horses. And, to have to place an ad is nuts! The people you get inquiring have no idea what they want when they’re looking most of the time. Most of them want a perfect horse and don’t realize there is NO perfect horse out there. The idiotic questions they ask just burn me up. lol I still haven’t given up on Jewels. Probably never will unless I’m forced to sell for financial reasons. As long as I can afford to care for them. Jewels may never work out for me as a riding horse. In reality, she is the loveliest pasture ornament I have. I can spend hours looking at her.🙂

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,797 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

