Jewels: Framing-Up

It was a beautiful day in the neighborhood Sunday. There’s nothing like a warm day in October. Something we see rarely around here. Temperatures soared in the high 80’s lower 90’s late afternoon. Was windy and coming out of the south. No rain in the forecast. We could use a lot of rain. It’s been especially dry in Texas for quite sometime. Making the best of  a good situation, I, spent most of the afternoon working with the horses. Again, Jewels was my go to. I walked out to the pasture with the usual pocket full of treats. Handsome was first on the scene, followed by Jersey. Jewels was lurking in the back ground. I hinted a bit of suspicion. Sure enough, she walked over, grabbed a handful of treats and off she went. I hollered, whoa! Surprisingly, she came back so I could halter her. Got to love the whoa factor.

Off we went to the tack room. I brushed and curried her off, saddled her up and off to the exercise pen. We did a few pressure and release exercises. Forward, backwards, left and right. I use just my fingertips to get her soft on the lead line. She’s doing really well in that department. I love watching her rock back and forth on her hind quarters. She has such a lovely rear end. There’s no reason why she couldn’t have learned to use it properly. And, she does! The trainer had taught her to reach under herself and cross over while making a turn on her haunches. She’s become more balanced over-all because of it. It’s come in real handy for the next step of her training. We’ve been working on picking up the correct leads. She’s had trouble with that. Not because she’s not been capable. She was just spending more time trying to run sideways when I asked to her to lope, then cross-fire to get away from me. Having to repeat the exercise over and over to get her to slow that excessive action down.

I firmly believe, someone in her past popped her frequently with a whip to get her to do anything. My communication is far more subtle than she was use to. It took nearly two years of desensitizing before she could keep all fours on the ground at one time. Now, I only have to ask her once to pick up a lead. She no longer leaves the ground in a mad dash to flee when asked to move forward. The smooth transition from a walk, trot and lope are well-balanced and fluid. She’s beginning to frame-up well while circling around me. When she moves faster than I’d like, I shorten the circles. She then, begins to lift her core, rocking on her hind end with forward propulsion. It’s beautiful to watch.

I’ve never encountered a horse with so many trust issues. Even walking near her, was a challenge in the past. I never knew when she was going to blow up. Thankfully, Jewels is beginning to trust me.The way she carries herself around me is proof enough for me. Treating her with kindness and respect has made a huge impact on the way she responds. I can see it in her eyes.

10365960_881116785232236_4547976484381307958_n

 

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling
2 comments on “Jewels: Framing-Up
  1. Katherine says:

    So beautiful…Jewels and your writing Susan☺️

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,797 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

