Jewels: Learning Patience

Working with Jewels has had its challenges. My biggest challenge to date is her lack of patience while tied. I don’t worry to terribly about it. It will work itself out in time. It does however get annoying when my husband gets freaked out when I leave her tied. He’s afraid she’ll hurt herself or work herself up into a lather. There’s nothing like someone constantly chanting in my ear. The problem can’t be fixed if she’s not tied up frequently and left for a period of time. She is better about it. I tied her up yesterday after our work out. I needed to go in the house and relax for a short time. I heard her screaming for the other horses from inside the house. I didn’t get worked up over it. I figured she’d calm down eventually. My husband had gone to the store and it was a perfect opportunity for me allow her time alone.

I rested for about thirty minutes and went back out to the barn. As I made my way to the ally of the barn, I noticed she was bouncing up and down on her front end. My first instinct was to untie her. I sat down in the aisle of the barn and watched her performance. All the while my wheels were turning in my head. My second thought was, I can get a trick out of that.  I’m always thinking about what I can get my horses to do that comes natural to them. She’s a smart cookie, so I think it wouldn’t take me long to incorporate that move into a trick or two. I just need to figure out how to get her to do it on command. First things first though. She needs to learn to stand patiently.

She does a funny little thing with her front legs. When she finally stands tied quietly, she’ll cross her front legs and stand that way for a long period of time.  I’ve never seen a horse do that before. I’m sure she started doing it when flies would land on her. She does it now just to be doing it. I find that very comical. I can get her to do it on command now. Working with her natural abilities are easy. It’s figuring out what the right buttons are to push that aren’t. In the past she was reactive and fearful. She’d run backwards or just plain blow up. She still gets a tad bit frustrated in a starry-eyed sort of way. Planting herself in a fixed stance. Thankfully, she isn’t a pill any longer when she doesn’t understand totally. The way she learns is quite interesting. She’ll chew and lick her lips. I know that’s normal, but, I love to watch her expressions when she gets it. Jewels has a way of complimenting herself for a job well done.

IMG_1260

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,797 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

