Jewels: My old project has a new beginning.

Jewels is far better today than the past two years. She’s much nicer to deal with. I’m so proud of how far she’s come. I did start riding her this past week. She’s not where I want her, but time and wet saddle blankets will contribute to her success as a fine trail mount. She’s looking a bit ragged from her training experience and having fallen ill last month, so I’ve decided to fit her for the show ring. Nope, I’m not going to show her. I am how ever wanting her to look her best. I started a new feeding program to enhance her coat from the inside out.

Our last trip to the vet proved to be a good starting point. Her low protein levels are now improving with proper feed and nutrition. She’s eating like a horse should, again. I ordered a product called “Succeed” to throw in her grain a couple of times a day. Along with low concentrates and protein rich alfalfa twice a day should bring her to a peak performance level in a few months. All the horses are allowed to graze freely on a round bale of hay during the day. I prefer to let our horses eat a round the clock to prevent any gastric upsets. I can help keep Jewels and the other two from getting obese with proper exercise.

I’m braiding her mane and bagging her tail daily to help with tangles and the excess dirt problems. I’ve been currying and brushing her coat a couple of times a day while she devours her feed. Jewels would probably rather I not bother her while eating, but she seems to be less pissy  about it these days. She never pins her ears or walks away now. That’s a huge hurdle she’s over come. I just love what the coat looks like in it’s natural state. All the natural oils enhance the shine. I’m going to refrain from bathing her unless it’s truly necessary. When I do bath her, I use “Cowboy Magic” products. They are by far, the best for what I’m trying to accomplish over the next few months. Here’s a picture of her now. I’m going to try and photograph her every two weeks there after. I can’t wait for the end results. It’s going to be magic!

IMG_1180

 

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,804 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

