Just when you think you’re to old to ride…

My farrier had called me to say he was coming out tomorrow to trim our horses. He asked, how I was feeling and if I was ready to get back in the saddle again. I was feeling sorry for myself late this afternoon. Of course, I said no! I feel horrible, my back hurts, my ribs hurt and I couldn’t catch a deep breath if my life depended on it. He just laughed a big ol’ hardy hardy har! I said, yeh and blah blah! We ended our conversation and finally pried myself off the chair in the living room. I made my way into the kitchen to cook dinner.

Leftovers were on the menu tonight.

I wasn’t really in the mood for preparing a large meal. It’s not that I need to eat a large meal anyhow. Apparently, the only thing I need is a butter knife to slather a few more extra pounds on my ass. Just the aroma of food cooking causes me to swell like a good year blimp! In spite of it all, the dinner was as good as usual. Okay, not so much. It was nothing more than left over pinto beans, mixed with a stir fry of…chopped onions, sweet peppers, cilantro and diced cactus, then topped it off with hot sauce. You drop a few tortillas chips on the plate to scoop up the remains.

It was then, time to peel myself off the living room chair again. I had to clean up what was left of the supper dishes. I always clean up while I’m cooking, so the left over dishes were minimal. My head was flooded with the possibilities of never riding, again! Oh, whoa is me! For Pete’s sake. I never learned the violin. So why am I complaining? To be old, physically challenged and accident prone spells…”d-i-s-a-s-t-e-r” on any level. Plopping my tired ol’ self down at the computer. I logged on to Facebook. Low and behold, there was a story that caught my eye. Just what the Dr ordered. I read it and wept.

I’ll let you read the article and come to your own conclusions.

81-year-old barrel racer has heart ‘full of horsehair’

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling
2 comments on “Just when you think you’re to old to ride…
  1. I sent my friend Pat who writes many stories on my blog the story about this 81 years young cowgirl. Pat is wheelchair bound and has mental problems with her brain, but still like this cowgirl, does not these little things get in her way.

    I feel you are of the same leather from reading your words in your stories here.

    • highonhorses says:

      That’s awesome! I hope she likes the story. It brought me to tears. It just goes to show you, just when you think you’re down for the count, you to, can get up and continue the fight.
      You sir, give me to much credit. I’m not sure if I’m made of the same leather. I’ve been down and out more times than I care to mention. At times I feel like I have no purpose in life. I guess I’m still searching for how I can make a valuable contribution towards other peoples lives. Cheers, Susan

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,804 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

