When accidents happen…

horseslnSunday started out a beautiful day. I had been blogging early, waiting on my Grand daughter to get home. She attends church every week. The bus usually arrives at 8:30am and she returns home between 12-12:30pm. Makayla has had a number of things she’s had to overcome in her life. As a 14-year-old, she is wise above her years. I am so proud of her. I’m always excited when she gets home, because we go for an afternoon ride. This afternoon was no different.  We saddled up around 2pm and headed for Crawford Park. The park is about 2 1/2 miles away. Most of the way, traffic is very light and speed limits are 20 mph. There is only one intersection with a traffic light along the way. The road we cross has a speed limit of 35 mph. Not to bad for a rural city area. There are quite a few people in the area that ride, so most folks are aware of horseback riders.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We rode about 30 minutes in to the park and rested the horses. Makayla picked a bench to sit on, I grabbed our water and a couple of apples we’d packed for our trip. We always bring apples. Our horses love to share the snacks with us. After resting for 20 minutes or so, we mounted up, and headed back towards the house. It had been a peaceful ride up until then. The horses were laid back, lazily making their way up the street, and all the sudden a car passed by. Normally this wouldn’t have been an issue, however as the car passed, someone threw something out the window of the moving car, and hit Mouse in the head. The object hit him so hard, he swung his head to the right and blew up like a bomb. Getting knocked off-balance, I grabbed the saddle horn trying to brace my fall.  I hit the ground like a rock, and landed dead center of my right rib cage. I knew in an instance, they were broken. I laid there trying to catch my breath. I couldn’t move.

A couple of good Samaritans stopped their car so traffic couldn’t hit me. The woman dialed 911, while the man helped me get to the curb. I was clearly unable to move myself. I kept trying to look around to see where my Grand daughter was. My eyes, finally got fixated on her, and realized she had caught Mouse. At least she was okay. I’m sure she was shaken up as well. She called her Dad and Grandpa to tell them what happened. An ambulance arrived on the scene before they got there. By then, my head was full of confusion. The paramedics were throwing questions at me so fast, I passed out from the excitement. Coming to shortly, they asked if I had hit my head. I told them, no. I was then able to look myself over and see the damage. I had lost my left boot, and my right elbow had a baseball size hematoma on it. Feeling the need to panic over my elbow, the medics reassured me, that was the least of my problems. They were worried more, whether my neck or back was broken. The medics slid me on a hard board, put a brace on my neck, loaded me in the ambulance and off we went to the hospital.

The ride to the hospital was horribly bumpy. My breathing was very shallow from the pain. When I arrived at the hospital, the trauma team acted quickly and efficiently. I saw a Dr. almost immediately. He began checking to see if I was having any issues related to my neck and back. Determining no injuries to those particular areas, he then ordered x-rays for my left hand, right elbow, right knee and my rib cage. They gave me a pain-killer that left me feeling real good and loopy. When the pain medicine really kicked in, I began to get comfortable and fell asleep. It wasn’t very long, someone came in to wake me. He was taking me down to get a CAT-scan on my chest. Later I was wheeled back to the trauma unit to rest. The Dr. landed on the scene sometime later with the results. What he found, was no surprise to me. Results are;  5 fractured ribs and a bruised lung. He said, I was going to have to be hospitalized overnight for breathing treatments and pain management. In the past, I’ve had allergic reactions to pain medications. He felt it was better to be safe than sorry. I agreed and was admitted for 24 hours.

The first thing they gave me, was Tramadol along with Flexeril and it didn’t phase the pain. Next up was Hydrocodone and it seemed to work okay. The Dr. said my pain was going to be excruciating for the first couple of weeks. Boy, O’ boy, he wasn’t lying about that. I don’t think, I’ve ever,… been in this much pain. He wants to see me again in two weeks for a follow-up. Riding home in the car was very painful. I felt every bumped and turn of the vehicle. It’s extremely hard for me to lay down and even harder to get up. It took me nearly 15 minutes ajusting to the pain this morning, long enough for me to get out of bed. I bet, I sleep in the recliner tonight. I’m tired now, so, I’ll do a recap on this later.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Rural Riding
7 comments on “When accidents happen…
  1. Zen Doe says:

    OMG! I’m so glad you didn’t break your back or neck!!! But, holy COW what a terrifying story! I want to say some VERY juicy words about the person who threw something and hit your horse. Biting my tongue off.

    Please take good care, and I hope you heal quickly.

    • highonhorses says:

      I can’t even begin to tell you how lucky I am. The whole ordeal was horrible. I just thank God, it wasn’t my Grand daughter. Thank you so much for your kind words. X

  2. Best wishes for a speedy recovery! I hope someone beans that guy in the head with something.

    Hopefully Mouse isn’t traumatized and you’ll both be back on the trail soon.

  3. Susan, so sorry to hear about your accident…I pray that you get rest and heal soon. Broken ribs are very painful from what I have heard. We don’t seem to bounce to good when we fall and the healing takes longer as one ages. Take care and I hope that you have help:)
    Love Aunt Kathy

  4. highonhorses says:

    I can’t tell you, just how much I’ve missed you and Aunt Mary Ann. Thank you for caring!
    Love, Susan

  5. This is a terrible thing to happen, and even worse because it was cause by a thoughtless careless person and should not have happened at all. Yet it did and I pray you have a full recovery with no lasting problems.

    Glad your ponies and grand daughter are fine, it could have been much worse as you already know.

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,804 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

