Mouse is doing well…

horsesln

It’s Saturday morning and I’m still sitting in the house. It is already hot outside. You gotta love Texas weather. It’s like a “box of chocolates”, you never know what you’re going to get. Well, that’s not entirely true. Hot weather usually begins in June and hovers over the our part of the world until late September. The wind is blowing mildly today. If it weren’t for that, the air would be stifling for sure. Having decided to get up off my duff. I made my way to the barn, grabbed a halter and caught up Mouse. It’s not that hard to catch him up. He meets me at the gate, looking for a treat no doubt. Come on, boy, let’s saddle up and ride for a short distance this morning. He’s like, no problem. He loves to sight see.

I tied him up to the area outside the tack room and went in to get the handy box. He knickers as I go through the door. He knows where his treats come from. Mouse stands patiently while brushing and currying him off. I love to comb his mane and tail. They’re getting really long again. I had pulled his mane short last summer. He had rubbed it off on the hay ring we had. I finally complained enough about it and Ron bought me one that won’t rub their manes out.🙂 Such a nice guy! Or, is it because he didn’t want to listen to me any longer? I’m sure it leans more towards the latter. ha ha! Getting back on track here. I finished up making him real purty and went to get the saddle. Now, I don’t normally tie him on a short lead. I don’t think it’s necessary, except this time, when I came back out with the saddle, he had tipped over the dogs water bucket. Bad, Mouse! Reckon he taught me an other lesson. I moved the bucket and saddled him up.

I hadn’t put on my riding boots yet, so I went in the house to get them. Having come back outside, I sat down and put them on. I attached my spurs to the boots this time. I don’t usually ride Mouse with spurs. Oh, he goes along okay, but he’s like a cold jar of molasses being poured over pancakes. A real slow drizzle. And, since he hasn’t had any formal training with us, I wanted to find out just how much he knows. We’ve never asked him to do more than he was capable of doing, with the shape he was in. It’s been a week today, that he was injected in his fetlock joints, and had the angle changed on the shoes. Absolutely no soreness either! He is traveling beautifully. No stumbling, or tripping, and he picks up his front legs to cross over. On with the ride. We headed south on Acres towards our usual destination. He held his head high, looking at everything around us. Not wanting to go to far past the next block, he started to balk a little. Something Mouse has never done before. I bumped  him lightly with the spurs, and he got the message.

Cars were whizzing by us slowly, dogs were barking, neighbors were waving and the Mouse just kept going. I asked him to side pass a couple of times towards the shoulder of the road and I was delighted at his response. It was like he knew what to do. I asked him to do it again, leaning toward the other side of the street. He picked up his front end and side passed to the other side. We, then, zig-zagged down to the other end of the street. This was so much fun. Mouse wasn’t irritated by it in the slightest. He lent me both ears and listened to every cue. What a nice little Mouse. Our ride was short, but sweet. After getting back to the house, I unsaddled him, put his halter back on and let him loose in the yard. I drug the hose over to him and turned the water on, so, I could hose him off. He loves to get a bath. This time, it was just a rinse. I let him lounge around and graze on the grass while soaking his coat down. It was time to put him up for the afternoon.

014 013

012

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,797 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

