Worth mentioning again…

I know, I’ve probably posted this picture before, along with the details on this horse. But, I think, it’s worth mentioning again. In 2009, we purchased this horse for my Grand daughter. She’d been begging us for a horse. The horse belonged to a 6-year-old girl at the time. She was a bit to small to handle him out right, so her Mother decided, it was time he go. He was the very first horse I looked at. The price was right, and I rode him several times, before making a deal with her to purchase him. There was conditions on my part. My Grand daughter must be able to handle him in the arena, in hand, and be able to manage him around the barn. He was pretty low-key, a tad lazy, and not real friendly at the time. Her first ride was in the arena. Half way down the arena fence, Makayla fell off. I gasped for breath, because I didn’t know what the horse would do. Heck, I didn’t know how Makayla would react either. The horse stood stock still when she hit the ground. Makayla got up, dusted her self off and looked at me. I reassured her it was alright, and then told the owner, “if she gets back on”, I’ll take him. We purchased him that day. We named him, Handsome. Again, I know, he’s not the most attractive horse in the barn, but to Makayla, he’s the “cats meow”.

iphone 008

We had to board him for a month where we bought him. We have a place of our own to keep horses, but at the time, it wasn’t horse ready. So, while getting things situated, this was the best place for now. Every evening we took Makayla to see her horse. She rode him daily, and always had an audience. The small children at the barn didn’t have horses. Their parents did, however, nothing safe for their kids. Handsome became the resident fun ride. Now normally, I wouldn’t entertain the thought of turning a bunch of children loose with a large horse. But, under the circumstances, this horse was kid crazy. No one rides this horse except children now. He won’t let an adult handle him without being disagreeable. Since we didn’t have a horse trailer after we bought him. I rode him home. Other than that. The few times I’ve ridden him, was to tune him up, after he got barn sour with the kids. He definitely loves his kid!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Daily Rambling

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,797 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

