Worming and new name…

   We agreed our new project horse is going to be called Mouse. He’s a short stout lil’ guy, so the name fits well. Not to mention his longer than normal ears. lol Doc said he might have some Arabian in him. Though he was kidding, I said shush! cause’ my Husband doesn’t like Arabians. He has a small petite head. Baby doll small and really quite feminine looking. Any how. This evening, I went out to worm the horses. My  Granddaughter and I made it a team project. She wormed them and I took pictures of the event.

This was the product we used on Handsome and Jerzey. We used Zemectrin Gold on Mouse.

  Afterwards, we got the grooming tools out. Mouse’s tail had a huge knot in it from being out to pasture. I sprayed some Show Sheen on it and brushed it til’ it came out. That stuff works wonders.

Look at that knot, would you?

I took a profile shot. This is going to be the beginning of getting him into better shape. His coat is real dry, he has hair missing, and is desperately in need of loving care. When done, I rigged up the saddle with the new stuff. We fit it to the horse and Makayla rode him around for a few minutes until I noticed his shoulder looked sore. I felt around on it and he flinched. I walked him back and forth for a few minutes wondering why he was limping. As we were discussing possibilities, Makayla reminded us that he received 3 injections on the same side today. She’s so dang smart. Very observant for a 12 year old. I have high hopes for her when she becomes of age.  It’s getting late, so I’m off for bed…

Two days into our new project.
Posted in Horse Health

Leave a Reply

"It's better to ride even if you get thrown, then to wind up just wishing you had." - Chris LeDoux.
Past Rambling
Categories
Follow High On Horses on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,804 hits
Good Reading
Instagram
Mickey's peeking at Gems. #aviary #aviary #aviary #TheBestOfMe
Tweet Me

Member of The Internet Defense League

Saddle Seeks Horse

striding toward harmony at home and barn

I sadlen

Hesten, Pigen og Stalden...

CJ

JOURNALIST

Urban Equestrian

Riding and writing

Purple Headspace

A tangle of thoughts

A Horse For Elinor

Dressage On A Dime

Horse Crazy Once Again

Regaining my original passion and finding my way in a horseworld I don't recognize

Major the Puzzle Pony

The transformation of a horse through love and devotion

Endurance Exploration

Where endurance is enchanting

Horse Sense

"Horses teach us a lot, very little of it has to do with horses"

Eldy's Little Shop Dog Grooming

Techniques and Insights

One Word at a Time

Just another WordPress.com site

Kicking On

riding around the world

Interesting life of a Nobody

Artist, Farm Life, Horses, Career, Photography, Animals, mentors, children, relationships

Chelsey Stimson

Never Give UP!

The life of Jess

What it is like living in the life of Jess!!!

Werner Nokota Horses

Bluebell Ranch Sweden

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

Two Heads are Better Than One

But we'd be happy if everyone just tried using his (or her) own

libslayer2013

I'm starting this blog to hopefully educate myself and a few others about the situation in America

photobackstory

Word and Image

Natural Conservatism & Common Sense

A Sovereign Opinion on the State of the Republic

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Toes In, Heels Down

A novice philosopher turned equestrian...

